Orte der Erinnerung 1933-1945

Orte der Erinnerung 1933 - 1945

Gedenkstätten, Dokumentationszentren und Museen
zur Geschichte der nationalsozialistischen Diktatur
in Berlin und Brandenburg

Museum Otto Weidt’s Workshop for the Blind

The museum Otto Weidt’s Workshop for the Blind tells the story of Otto Weidt’s Workshop for the Blind. During the Second World War the brush manufacturer Otto Weidt employed mainly blind and deaf Jews who produced brooms and brushes here. Various life stories testify to Otto Weidt’s efforts to protect his Jewish employees from persecution and deportation. As danger grew, he searched for hiding-places for some of them. One of these hideouts was in the rooms that are now part of the museum.

Following the museum tour, visitors can also take a guided tour of the locality, Spandauer Vorstadt (Spandau Suburb), on the track of places directly connected with the history of the Workshop for the Blind.

The content and organization of the museum Otto Weidt's Workshop for the Blind is maintained by the German Resistance Memorial Center Foundation.

 

Address

Museum Blindenwerkstatt Otto Weidt (The Otto Weidt’s Workshop for the Blind Museum)
part of the Stiftung Gedenkstätte Deutscher Widerstand (German Resistance Memorial Center Foundation)
Rosenthaler Straße 39
First courtyard, entrance left
10178 Berlin

Tel.: +49(0)30-28 59 94 07
Fax: +49(0)30-25 76 26 14

Email: info(at)museum-blindenwerkstatt.de
Internet: www.blindes-vertrauen.de

The institution on google maps

S-Bahnhof: Hackescher Markt
U-Bahnhof: Weinmeisterstraße

Opening Hours:
Mon-Sun 10am-8pm
Guided tours are available for groups after 9am
Closed on December 24th

Public Tours: Sundays at 3pm (no prior registration required)
Group tours by arrangement from 9 am. Admission free. The museum offers tours free of charge. Please book in advance. Tours in English, Italian, Turkish and French by arrangement.

Admission:
Free Entry